Academic Calendar

Dates for your Diary

Summary of Term Dates - Academic Year (2018 - 2019)

Winter Term - 2018

All staff join            Sunday, 26 August (GEMS Awareness Day for new staff)
Staff Training Days Sunday, 26 August until Thursday, 30 August  
New Student Induction Sunday, 2 September (All new students)
Start of term for All Students  Monday, 3 September
Islamic New Year  Wednesday, 12 September
PTM (students not in school)  Saturday, 13 October
PD Staff Training Day  (Students not in school)

Sunday, 21 October and Monday, 22 October

 Half Term (Students)

Sunday, 21 October until Thursday, 25 October Tuesday, 

Half Term (Staff)

23 October until Thursday, 25 October

National Commemoration Day & UAE National Day Holiday

Friday, 30 November - Monday, 3 December (inclusive)
 Last day of term                                                                      Wednesday, 12 December
PTM (students not in school)

Thursday, 13 December


Spring Term - 2019

Start of Term                                       Sunday, 6 January  
PD Staff Training Day  (Students not in school)                        Sunday, 17 February until Tuesday, 19 February
Half Term (students) 

Sunday, 17 February until Thursday, 21 February

Half Term (staff)

Wednesday, 20 February and Thursday, 21 February

Last day of term

Wednesday, 27 March

PTM (students not in school) 

Thursday, 28 March


Summer Term - 2019

*Ascension of the Prophet (PBUH)  Wednesday, 3 April
Start of term Sunday, 14 April
*Eid al Fitr Tuesday, 4 June until Thursday, 6 June
PTM (students not in school)  Thursday, 27 June
Last day of term Thursday, 4 July

*All Islamic holidays are subject to confirmation from the Ministry of Education

For term dates and holiday information, please consult the calendar shown in below link.

Summary of Term Dates - Academic Year (2017 - 2018)

Winter Term - 2017

New Staff Induction               Sunday, 27 August—Tuesday, 29 August
Staff Training Days  Tuesday, 5 and Wednesday, 6 September    
*Eid al Adha  Thursday, 31 August - Sunday, 3 September
New Student Induction and all new students  Thursday, 7 September
Start of term for All Students  Sunday, 10 September *Islamic New Year Thursday, 21 September
*Islamic New Year  Thursday, 21 September
PD Staff Training Day (Students not in school)      Thursday, 26 October and Sunday, 29 October 
Half Term                                                                          Monday, 30 October —Thursday, 2 November (inclusive) 
*National Commemoration Day  Thursday, 30 November - Sunday, 3 December (inclusive) & UAE National Day Holiday
Last day of term  Thursday, 14 December


Spring Term - 2018

Start of Term                                       Tuesday, 2 January
Half Term                            Sunday, 11 February—Thursday, 15 February (inclusive)
Last day of term

Thursday, 22 March


Summer Term - 2018

Start of Term Sunday, 8 April
*Ascension of the Prophet (PBUH) Thursday, 12 April
*Eid al Fitr Thursday, 14 Jun
Last day of the academic year Thursday, 5 July


*All Islamic holidays are subject to confirmation from the KHDA